top of page
Search
  • rachaeldeklerk

Brand of Light Review

Updated: Nov 24, 2021


I’d never read a space opera before, so when I began Brand of Light by Ronie Kendig I had absolutely no expectations. I’ve never been a fan of fantastical worlds with strange creatures, but I do occasionally enjoy a good sci-fi movie, so I thought that this would be a good way to dip my toes into the realm of speculative fiction. And I am so glad that I did.


I was not expecting to be so completely drawn into this fictional world that somehow seamlessly blends space ships and hyper-advanced technology with warriors and castles reminiscent of medieval times. The fact that one planet in this high-tech galaxy refuses to use technology added such a fascinating layer to the story. The fine balance between historical and futuristic was beautifully handled; I cannot even begin to imagine the huge amount of research that went into turning this novel into the masterpiece that it is.


The characters (secondary included) were excellently written. I felt as if I knew every one of them—I felt their pain and joy, and every emotion in between. I can’t even begin to explain how much I enjoyed these characters (especially Marco and Kersei). All I can say is that I am so glad that this is a series, and I don’t have to say goodbye just yet.


The romance, while not at all overshadowing the main plot, was beautiful. It felt natural and the characters just complemented each other so perfectly.


If you’re looking for a well-written story that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page, this is the book for you.


*I highly recommend having Dawn of Vengeance (book 2) on hand when nearing the end of Brand of Light—all I’ll say is that I am so glad I did.


6 Stars!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

War of Torment Review

I have no words. Okay, fine. I have got words, but none of them are quite enough to convey the amazingness that is War of Torment by Ronie Kendig. If you’ve been following me for a while, then you alr

bottom of page